Monday, April 22, 2024

Golf Coaches Association of America is Seeking Submissions for the 2024 Ron Balicki Scholarship


The Golf Coaches Association of America is accepting applications for the 2024 Ron Balicki Scholarship through March 1. Two $2,500 scholarships will be awarded to the recipient, a current senior in high school or an undergraduate or graduate student in college, one for each semester of 2024.

The Ron Balicki Scholarship for future golf journalists was created in honor of Ron Balicki, who dedicated his life to covering golf.

2024 Ron Balicki scholarship Application And Eligibility

Any undergraduate or graduate student at a college or university and high school journalists are eligible to apply. The Ron Balicki scholarship can only be awarded to a person once throughout college. Kindly go to the application portal to access the nomination form. Other scholarship options availiable for US citizens is the George Miller memorial scholarship.

About The 2024 Ron Balicki scholarship

Balicki is among the few who have done the most to promote college golf. After essentially creating the college golf beat while working at Golfweek in 1983, Balicki ingrained himself into the collegiate and amateur ranks. 1980, while working for the Northwest Florida Daily News, he covered his first golf tournament.

He received four first-place and multiple honorable mention honors from the International Network of Golf. He placed first and third in G.C.A.A. writing competitions. Balicki also received three Texas Golf Writers Association first-place honors.

The Northwest Florida Sports Association’s Al Byrne Award and the Golf Writers Association of America’s Jimmy D’Angelo Award were given to him in recognition of his passion, contributions, and service to the organization and the community.

Balicki, who was inducted into the G.C.A.A. Hall of Fame in 2010, covered every G.C.A.A. National Convention since its founding in 2013 and every N.C.A.A. Championship going back to 1985 before his cancer took his life. Known as “Wrong Ron” due to his tendency to mispredict the N.C.A.A.

Championship winner and his ability to bring rain to events he covered consistently, Balicki was genuinely devoted to the game and the people he covered. The players, coaches, and other college golf stakeholders reciprocated his affection.

Luke Hendry of the University of Texas, Tracy Peyton of Palm Beach Atlantic University, Brayden Conover of the University of Oklahoma, Cade Tjomsland of Palm Beach Atlantic University, Alex Gelman of Arizona State University, and Carson Racich of Florida Gulf Coast University are among the previous recipients of the Ron Balicki Scholarship.

Carson Racich (Florida Gulf Coast University), Alex Gelman (Arizona State University), Cade Tjomsland (Palm Beach Atlantic University), Brayden Conover (University of Oklahoma), Tracy Peyton (Palm Beach Atlantic University), and Hendry are among the previous recipients of the Ron Balicki Scholarship.


Read more

Check Out